New Mexican Man Accused in Hit-and-Run Accident Apologizes To Family

Late last week, a New Mexican man fled the scene of an accident that injured a 10-year-old boy. According to a local news report, the man claimed that he was driving home when the young boy ran out in front of his car. Instead of stopping, the man continued about a block away to his home. He explained that when he got home, he felt an immense amount of guilt and decided that he had to go back to the scene of the incident.

pedestrian-crossing-1382266-m.jpgDuring the period the man was at his home contemplating what to do, someone else notified emergency personnel. The young child was rushed to a local hospital. At the current time, the extent of the young child’s injuries are not known.

Hit-and-Run Laws in New Mexico

In the United States, over 30,000 people are either seriously injured or killed in car accidents every year. Many times, this is because the individual who hit the victim may not remain at the scene of the crime, which can result in the victim not receiving prompt medical treatment.

In New Mexico, any driver who is involved in an automobile accident that results in death or injury to another individual should follow certain enumerated steps and procedures. First, the individual must stop their vehicle as close as they can to the scene of the accident. They then should remain at the scene of the accident at least until emergency aid has arrived.

The driver must also provide their pertinent information to the victim or another person on the victim’s behalf, if they request it. This information includes their name, address, and registration and license information. They should also try to render reasonable medical assistance or contact someone who can render this aid.

When an individual does not abide by these behaviors, they may be held liable criminally and possibly civilly for a hit-and-run. The criminal charges range anywhere from a fourth-degree felony to a first-degree felony. The sentence can be between 18 months and 18 years, depending on the specific circumstances of the accidents. Furthermore, the party may be held liable by the victim or their family. This may result in a monetary judgment for the family.

Have You or a Loved One Been Injured in a Hit-and-Run?

If you or a loved one has been a victim of a hit-and-run accident, you may consider bringing a civil negligence suit against the culpable party. The complicating factor in hit-and-runs is that the whole process may be delayed because of how long it may take to find the perpetrator. It is important that you contact an attorney to assist you and ensure that you have met all of the requirements in a timely manner and also to help you understand your rights and potential remedies. If you are successful, you may be entitled to monetary compensation for your injuries and quite possibly punitive damages because of the egregious nature of the incident. Contact the Fine Law Firm today at 505-889-FINE to schedule a free initial consultation with an attorney.

More Blog Posts:

Hospital Attempts to Get Case Dismissed Because of Statute of Limitations, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, January 20, 2015.

Midland County Accident Takes Life of One Man During Sleet Storm, New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Blog, January 12, 2015.